Life as the “Scripting Wife”

As you all know by now, we just returned from the PowerShell Deep Dive in Las Vegas. We met many wonderful people and had a chance to catch up with others that we had met previously. All in all it was an indescribable conference. We took several pictures that I hope Ed will download from the camera for me soon. He is quite busy grading scripts for the 2011 Scripting Games so I am patiently, well maybe not patiently, but I am waiting for him to have time to do so. Once he has them downloaded I will publish them and write some comments about the people in the pictures.

One thing I was asked several times is “How do I get my wife involved in scripting”. I have been thinking about the best way to answer this question. First I believe you need to know a little background in order to have the entire “Scripting Wife” picture.  Ed and I are an unusual couple on many levels. We both have extreme opposite feelings on some big issues while at the same time we agree 100 per cent on others. The biggest opposing things are he will eat any variety of food as long as it is well prepared and I am one of the most finicky eaters you will ever encounter. Ed loves the water and I am petrified of it, no scuba for me.

The 100 per cent agreement items that are vital for a marriage to work are that we do not have children and do not see any in our future and we are both workaholics.  Before I retired and even before I semi retired I worked as much overtime as was needed to get the job done. It did not matter if it was a holiday or 9 PM at night the job came first. Ed is the same way. Our only rule was if you are working late then let the other person know you were going to be late so they did not worry that you had been in an accident.

Today since I am retired and Ed works from home I get bored and I wind up sitting in his office and getting involved. Once I was involved it has become a one way road for me. I love the interaction with the community and other scripters. I have always been Ed’s proofreader as he was authoring books and now I do a quick reading of his blog before he sends it to his editor for publication. I honestly cannot tell you a thing I have learned from proofreading for him. I do not learn by reading I learn by doing and by classroom instruction. A few months ago Ed had to have hand surgery and for a few days he was in a great deal of pain plus he could not use his hand to type. I wound up typing the answers to emails for him as he told me what to say. Once again I am tugged into the picture and felt like I was meeting new friends along the way. I am better with names, dates and organization than Ed  but he is way beyond me in the scripting category. I can remind him that Chris O’Prey is the Microsoft employee that is also a moderator for the Scripting Guys forum and Ed instantly can tell you what Chris does for Microsoft and his specialties. But if you just say Chris O’Prey to Ed he will say I recognize the name but I can’t place him. Some days you can say Teresa Wilson to Ed and he will say “HMMMM the name sounds familiar. ” :-)

Now you maybe can see where we are headed, just being around the house with Ed, not having a job to go to each day, a love for being around intelligent people and eventually you wind up as the “Scripting Wife”. The other item that I think contributes is with no kids to occupy my time I do in fact have more free time than a mother does.  When Ed was working on the 2010 Scripting Games scenarios and he would talk about them out loud I told him I thought they were too hard for a beginner and he needed to back up a little. Finally I told him to teach me the basic concepts that he wrote about in the 201o Scripting Games Study Guide and that is how it started. I more or less forced him to step back and not assume the beginner knew anything and walk them through the tasks.

After the 2010 Scripting Games were over I realized that it was a great learning experience for everyone and I promptly forced myself to forget anything Ed had taught me. Then when the 2011 Scripting Games came around I was a fresh new beginner again.  I have already pretty much forgotten what Ed has taught me this year so that I can be fresh for new lessons later on and for the 2012 Scripting Games. I do remember the three things I picked up from Don Jones because they were more common sense items and the first one about there are many paths to reach a goal was already in my mind. The other two items are still there as well becuase I think of Write-Host as sending something to a printer and once it has printed you cannot manipulate it anymore. And the line continuation tip makes perfect since because I am a mathematics person I know if you have an open “{” then you have to have a closed “}”.

On a personal note about being the “Scripting Wife” I feel it is important to show an interest in what Ed does whether it is his work or his hobby but that does not mean I have to be with him at his level for either scenario. If he is working 12 hours a day life is so much more pleasant to look at it as a good thing that he enjoys his job and to not berate him for working the hours he does, and if I can create a spreadsheet for him, or proofread or even be his model student at learning something new then that is what I want to do. Life is too short to be miserable in your job or to be miserable because you or your spouse is working.

In the end, I do not know how to “get your wife involved in scripting” but maybe if you explained how much time you will save once you have learned PowerShell to automate work tasks that might spike her interest. Also you all know what your wife’s work is or what her interests are and how PowerShell could be applied to her benefit. Then either proceed to teach her how to write the script or even just write the script for her.

Hope this helps and you all have a Scriptastic Day.

2 Comments

  1. OH Hey Teresa,

    How are you? Good to see you have a blog too! Didn’t know that! :)

    We haven’t talked after we met at GeekReady. How are you and Ed doing?

  2. Bhargav,
    We are doing great. It was nice to see you again at GeekReady, I hope you had a wonderful time there. Thanks for reading my posts. I need to write more. I have been working on a blog post for a couple of months. It should be informative and I hope useful when I finish.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

